Ms. Parker and Me

June 4, 2008

For those who wonder about the title of my blog, which are none of you because I haven’t told people I have a blog save Karen and Sharon, it is taken from a line from Dorothy Parker– said to be what she would exclaim on the ringing of her phone: What fresh Hell is this?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dorothy_Parker

I love her.  She is fabulous.  Read about her.  Read her work. 

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_gw?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=dorothy+parker

You will be so much the better for it.   Check out this lil sparkler she telegrammed in response to an editor’s missive bugging her for promised stories while she was away on her honeymoon:

“I’ve been too fucking busy – or vice versa.”

Perfect.

So, other than my admiration of the famed wit of the Vicious Circle

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0110588/

why choose this monkier for my site?  Sadly, it suits my life of late.  Like another quote from Ms. Parker that perfectly encapsulates the past 2 years of my life:

“This wasn’t just plain terrible, this was fancy terrible. This was terrible with raisins in it.”

Like Dottie, though, as down as I get, some how I soldier on.  That’s evident even the blog I am now penning (hahaha– tapping?).  I am doing my level best to pull myself out of the funk with raisins that has been my existence for the last too-long while.

Wish me luck.

Comment
Oh, life is a glorious cycle of song,
A medley of extemporanea,
And love is a thing that can never go wrong,
And I am Marie of Roumania.

 

Leave a Reply

